Back to the Basics

The intense rush of the June 2010 race weekend has finally dwindled down, and operations at the racetrack are back to normal. I have my weekends back to myself and am learning more and more about the raceway and everything that goes along with it.

As I have mentioned I knew little to nothing about the Pocono Raceway and all that it involves. You will now find me on Sunday afternoons watching the NASCAR Sprint Cup series to better understand and educate myself.

During my daily tasks at the Raceway I talk and work with patrons to aid them in their ticket purchases, along with any other questions they may encounter. I am finally achieving the knowledge about the racetrack to successfully answer any questions that may arise from patrons.

While interning, just about everyday I always seem to encounter a change or new situation that always leaves me with plenty of questions. My site supervisor always tells me, “Once I think I have a handle on things, they will end up changing again.” However by asking the questions is the best learning process for me, to better understand what action or direction I need to take. I spend a decent part of my day just asking questions and wanting further definition on what I am working on. A perfect example of this is what happened today. During my time at the racetrack I have worked mostly with ticket sales. But today a renewal form went out via e-mail. (A renewal form is where previous patrons are provided with the choice to purchase their same seats for the following year.) I have never worked with the renewal forms before; therefore I had plenty of questions today to better understand the whole process and will probably have even more tomorrow. My many questions definitely help me to better aid the patrons in purchasing their seats for the upcoming year.

There is never a dull day while interning at the Pocono Raceway. I am always coming across new situations, and interacting with people from all over the globe. If you happen to be in the market for buying seats for the upcoming race weekend in August (which I highly recommend) there is a very good chance you could put my knowledge of the Pocono Raceway to the test by having the luck of me answering your phone call, and I am looking forward to it!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment